September 21, 2023

Dale Lythjohan of Cedarburg welcomed into Joint Action Hall of Fame

Member Utilities

WPPI Energy held its Annual Meeting on Sept. 14, 2023, in Sheboygan, Wis. Welcomed into the Joint Action Hall of Fame during the event was Dale Lythjohan, who retired after three decades as general manager of Cedarburg Light & Water.

“The Joint Action Hall of Fame is our organization’s highest honor. It recognizes individuals who have made extraordinary and substantial contributions to the development and success of WPPI and joint action,” stated Jim Stawicki, WPPI Energy board chair and general manager of Sturgeon Bay Utilities. “I am proud to announce Dale Lythjohan as the 35th inductee into our Hall of Fame.”

During his time with WPPI Energy, Lythjohan served as board chair from 2007-2011, and was active on the board of directors for nearly thirty years.

Stawicki noted, “He always led by example and his leadership had a great impact within Cedarburg, WPPI, and the utility industry in general. Dale was a true leader and teacher to the people with whom he worked.”

This is the second time in recent months that Lythjohan has received high recognition in the utility industry. Earlier this year, he received the American Public Power Association’s Mark Crisson Leadership and Managerial Excellence Award. The award recognizes managers of a public power utility, joint action agency, or state or regional association who bring their organizations to new levels of excellence, lead by example, and inspire their employees and staff to improve processes, services, and operations. Lythjohan was presented with that award during the APPA National Conference in Seattle on June 20, 2023.

“As a longtime WPPI leader, Dale contributed significantly to public power and joint action over the years,” Stawicki concluded. “His dedication is appreciated and recognized as the membership welcomes him into the Joint Action Hall of Fame.”