June 20, 2023

Dale Lythjohan, former chair of WPPI Energy, earns national leadership award


Dale Lythjohan, the general manager at Cedarburg Light & Water Utility from 1993-2022, received the Mark Crisson Leadership and Managerial Excellence Award during the American Public Power Association’s National Conference in Seattle on June 20, 2023. The award recognizes managers at a utility for steering the organization to new levels of excellence, leading by example, and inspiring staff to do their best.

“I’ve had the privilege of both working with and learning from Dale since I entered the utility industry 20 years ago,” shared Jim Stawicki, general manager of Sturgeon Bay Utilities and chair of WPPI Energy’s Board of Directors. “Dale served on WPPI’s board for nearly three decades and was chair from 2007-2011. He always led by example and his leadership had a great impact within Cedarburg, WPPI, and the utility industry in general. His recognition with the Mark Crisson Leadership Award is well-deserved.”

WPPI Energy is a joint action agency owned and governed by 51 locally owned, not-for-profit utilities, including Cedarburg Light & Water. Lythjohan not only served on the board of directors and executive committee, but also provided guidance by dedicating his time to the finance committee, personnel committee, rates and advisory group, and customer and energy services advisory group – many of which he was elected to chair.

During Lythjohan’s time as general manager, Cedarburg Light & Water focused on increasing the utility’s already high customer satisfaction rate. The utility supplies reliable, affordable, and responsible electricity to over 7,000 residents and businesses in the community.

“Dale managed his staff with kindness and empathy,” said Mike Peters, president and CEO of WPPI Energy. “He was both a leader and teacher to the people with whom he worked.”

Lythjohan’s utility career started out of college when he went to work as a utility engineer for Wisconsin Power & Light Company in 1983. He retired last year after 39 years in the electric industry, 29 of which were spent at Cedarburg Light & Water.