Share this

Members Earn National Safety Award

Twenty WPPI Energy member utilities were awarded the American Public Power Association’s (APPA) Safety Award of Excellence April 30 at the APPA Engineering & Operations Technical Conference in Raleigh, N.C.

The award recognizes locally owned, not-for-profit utilities across the nation that had the lowest numbers of work-related injuries and illnesses in 2017, based on worker-hours of exposure.

The following members received the award: 

First place: Black River Falls Municipal Utilities; Brodhead Water & Light; City Utilities of Richland Center; Columbus Water & Light; Evansville Water & Light; Independence Light & Power, Telecommunications; Lodi Utilities; Menasha Utilities; Muscoda Utilities; New Holstein Utilities; Oconomowoc Utilities; Reedsburg Utility Commission; Stoughton Utilities; Sturgeon Bay Utilities; Two Rivers Water & Light; Waupun Utilities; Whitehall Electric Utility

Second place: New Richmond Utilities  

Honorable mention: River Falls Municipal Utilities, Sun Prairie Utilities 

“Our members are dedicated to maintaining the highest standards of safety,” said WPPI Energy President and CEO Mike Peters. “They are well-deserving of this recognition.”

A full list of award recipients is available here.


Related Posts